Mission Accomplished

Bush- Mission AccomplishedAs Stephen Colbert said on announcing that his book America Again: Rebecoming the Greatness We Never Weren’t had beaten Bill O’Reily’s book Killing Kennedy in sales, “We wrote it!” And I have the same urge to scream that phrase at the top of my lungs.

Why? I wrote it! When I first started to write creatively over six years ago, I figured that some day I’d write a full-fledged novel and have it published. Then followed a couple hundred attempts at that dream spread over the years, some coming closer than others before eventually stalling out and going into a nosedive. But finally, after seven months, one period of doubt where I almost gave up, countless numbers of background songs ranging from Metallica to CCR, and countless hours in Carrier Library, I have finished the first draft of a full-fledged novel.

This is also the reason I’ve been a ghost on this site for the past two weeks, for those were the periods in which I wrote the most pivotal chapters of this book; the climax and the conclusion. Now The War of the Rose sits completed as of four hours ago, and the euphoria has yet to wash over me yet. Any day now, I’m sure.

But this war is far from over, for now the brutal struggle lies before me; editing and revisions. I’m not too concerned though, I have the drive to see this thing through to the hardback Valhalla that every writer quests for. This summer, I am returning to the house in Emerald Isle, North Carolina where this idea was originally put to paper, where the first five chapters were written. And there is nothing more fulfilling than to be able to lay the printed version on that desk where I began this journey, to have everything come full circle I tell you this so I am accountable, and I expect you to hold me to this goal, Internet.

The first battle is over, and I would never have gotten there without the support I received on the first chapter I uploaded to this site when it was first created. Your comments gave me inspiration and motivation to look at my work from different angles, and in that way, to keep going, to strive for more. As Sammy Hagar said in “Dreams” by Van Halen, “We’ll get hi-igh! Hi-igh! Straight up we’ll fly!” So thank you, loyal readers and fellow bloggers for making this possible.

Some of you are probably wondering, “What does that quote have to do with anything?” To which I say nothing, I just like that song. I borrow from George W. Bush, the greatest president of the period of American history spanning from 2001 to 2007, in saying,”Mission accomplished.” But like the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, it, uh, it still needs just a bit more work, but victory’s around the corner, I swear.

Does this text make you think? Let the world know!

