Creedence Clearwater (and my) Revival

I know what you’re thinking:

Yes, he’s back again. Yet another post about how he had to go off and live his life, but now he’s going to be good to all his readers and followers and never leave us hanging again.

Well, no, actually. If you’re a longtime reader of this website, and I know there are at least a few of you out there, then you’ll know the “I’m back for good” posts are kind of a running gag on this site. Each summer, I write a post asking for forgiveness after school and work wrested my efforts away from writing, and then I promise to keep a consistent stream of content from here on out. After which, I promptly relapse into inactivity.

But I’m not going to do that this time. I won’t make any promises; I’m going to show you, my faithful readers (that haven’t yet found the “Unsubscribe” button), that The Future Writers of America lives on.

Yes, when I first chose the stupid acronym TFWOA to name the site in the fall of 2014, I had no idea that I would ever graduate from James Madison University, much less in three years. Equally unbelievable, I had no idea that I would still have this class project operating and producing content. Furthermore, I would have laughed at anyone that told me I’d have a completely edited and polished manuscript ready for publication. But all these events have (more or less) come to pass.

I graduated this past weekend with a Bachelor of Science in Writing, Rhetoric and Technical Communication. Which is to say, not only am I an amateur writer with a website, but now I’m a college-educated writer. I have an obligation to share my institution-learned wisdom with the masses. As the esteemed philosopher Ben Parker stated in Spider-Man: “With great power comes great responsibility.”

With a moral imperative pilfered from a superhero movie about a teenager who made the greatest recovery from a spider bite ever in order to fight his best friend’s megalomaniac CEO father, I figure things can only look up from here. Hey, projects have been done for stupider reasons.

Writing for the Masses is back. Soundtrack of the Revolution is returning. Me ranting in a back corner of the web about writing and publishing and politics and everything in between? Well, that never really went away. It just evolved.

Again, don’t take my word for it. Take the post next week’s word for it.

Now to play us out, I turn to CCR for a similarly upbeat outlook. Until next week, I’ll see y’all “Up Around the Bend”:

Does this text make you think? Let the world know!

